• Advertisement

Outdoor Power Equipment Repair Company

Use this forum to discuss small engines, and the equipment or machinery that they power. This is the main section for any technical help posts and related questions.

Outdoor Power Equipment Repair Company

Postby KevAguilar1 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:20 pm

My name is Kevin, and I currently reside in Yonkers, New York. I own a landscaping company, yet I want to incorporate an outdoor power equipment repair service to my company. Can anyone recommend books, videos, or even courses teaching how to repair power equipment? I am open to any suggestions and will welcome ANY feedback regarding the power equipment repair industry.
KevAguilar1

Advertisement

Re: Outdoor Power Equipment Repair Company

Postby HondaG100 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:29 pm

Hi Kevin,
As I suspect many on this forum are I am almost completely self taught when it comes to small engine repair and various other disciplines. I have been doing it as a hobby and later as supplemental income since I was in my early teens. I truly enjoy solving difficult problems that nobody else was able to. With that being said if you really want to get started in equipment repair, your best bet may be to get a job at another shop for a while until you have a solid base from which to learn. There are many good sources of information online but due to the technical nature of the business it will be hard to learn that way unless you get dirty first. Your local community college will have courses you could check into. Most factory certifications such as the Briggs MST will require experience in the field.
HondaG100
Guide

Postby bgsengine » Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:01 pm