• Advertisement

Kawasaki FH721V (25hp mower).. carb issue?

Use this forum to discuss small engines, and the equipment or machinery that they power. This is the main section for any technical help posts and related questions.

Kawasaki FH721V (25hp mower).. carb issue?

Postby Murphy625 » Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:11 am

I have a Ferris IS2000 with a 25hp Kawasaki FHV721V engine @460hrs.

My port side ignition coil went bad about a week ago so I replaced it..

After replacing the coil, the machine seemed to run fine.. Mowing lawn that had not been cut for a couple weeks, I ran the unit out of gas in the middle of the job.. I've never done that before. It had only run for 45 minutes since replacing the coil.

Ever since, the engine hasn't run correctly.. it idles rough and surges at idle.. I figured it sucked something up into the carb or whatever.

I took the carb apart (Nikki 150037121) and boiled it out really well.. I forgot to count the number of turns on the fuel pilot screws!!! Ouch!

Since putting it all back together, I can not seem to get it to idle as smooth as it used to...

I followed some instructions I found on the web on how to reset the fuel pilot screws and it seems to have helped but the engine is making this Popping sound when its idling.

A casual observer might not even notice the pop pop pop during idle.. Its barely noticeable but its certainly not supposed to make that sound. I can best describe it as a miniature and very quiet backfire. It only does it at idle, the popping almost sounds like Morse Code

The engine seems to have full power at full throttle when mowing and seems smooth.
Even at idle now, the engine rpm's seem to be smooth and steady but there's that popping sound.

One other thing.. Before rebuilding the carb, starting the engine when it was warm was a simple 1/2 second turn of the key.. Now, since cleaning the carb, I have to use the choke.. It starts right up, but the choke has to be on or it will just crank over.