• Advertisement

Blade Grinders

Use this forum to discuss small engines, and the equipment or machinery that they power. This is the main section for any technical help posts and related questions.

Blade Grinders

Postby omrkr » Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:38 pm

Just throwing out a question to everyone. What are some opinions on blade grinders, are the a complete necessity? If so, when you guys bill for sharpening blades in the spring do you actually itemize blade sharpening or do you account for the time in the flat rate? I use a side grinder now, I take my time and get the angles right. I know that I probably should use a blade grinder but man, they are expensive. I am just starting out on my own after working in a shop for quite a while. They had a blade sharpener at one shop I was at but did not at a larger John Deere dealer. Wondering if I should throw one on my preseason order. Thanks for the replies
omrkr

Advertisement

Re: Blade Grinders

Postby bgsengine » Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:01 pm

Blade Grinder.. Hmmm.. we DO have one from Oregon - for larger commercial blades.. Charge $8 per blade sharpened and balanced.. and yes they are itemized that way... but for your typical small pushmower blade, it's faster and cheaper to simply replace it if it needs sharpening (at least, for us, since we can sell most of the more common, and frequently difficult to sharpen, mower blades for $8 each anyway) I did at one time ( A long time ago) have a custom bench grinder set up (using Ruby grinding wheel, but they are expensive at $80 a pop or more) which was extremely effective, but required a lot of practice, and ability to eyeball the correct angle and hold the blade steady. - See below: Image
Results of one blade sharpened on that get-up: