• Advertisement

Echo Blower Problem

Use this forum to discuss small engines, and the equipment or machinery that they power. This is the main section for any technical help posts and related questions.

Echo Blower Problem

Postby bill18163 » Wed May 08, 2019 6:40 pm

I have a Echo PB-770H backpack blower. Last April(2018) I had a problem with the engine slowing down and losing power and of course the air output went down also. I had been using the machine for six years with no problems. I looked in the trouble shooting section and subsequently did the following: Replaced spark plug. The gap was over size by .004., Replaced the fuel filter, Replaced the fuel tank vent filter, The main air filter was fine so I didn't replace it. Machine ran great after replacing these parts. Today I was using the machine and it started doing the same thing it did last year. It ran for six years from being new but it's only been a year and its' doing it again. The fuel should be OK because I just mixed a new batch with recently bought gas. I ran the gas in my Stihl weed whacker with no problem today. I checked the plug and it looks fine and the gap is correct. It's only a year old. Air filter looks bran new. Fuel filter looks fine. Only thing left is that fuel tank vent filter but I haven't looked at it yet because it's so hard to get at. Now that vent filter is suspicious because the machine will run for awhile before it starts to slow down. Maybe differential in pressure in the tank(vacuum)? Could that vent filter go bad so quick? Or is there something else I'm missing on this machine? I was going to pull the vent filter tomorrow but is there anything else particular to this machine I should be looking at?
bill18163

Advertisement

Re: Echo Blower Problem

Postby bgsengine » Wed May 08, 2019 7:27 pm