• Advertisement

Hi and Honda

Use this forum to discuss small engines, and the equipment or machinery that they power. This is the main section for any technical help posts and related questions.

Hi and Honda

Postby John » Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:04 pm

Hi to all the good people on this website I live in Letchworth SG6 UK and am new to fixing engines. I have just become a member on the phpbb forum/website. My first question. I have a Honda GX140 generator that smokes like a good un so I took the head off and I think the problem is the outlet valve is worn. The outlet valve guide appears to have a ring ( like a circlip but just round ) on top to stop it dropping, I want to put in a new guide but don't know how to remove the old one. Do I take the clip off and knock out the guide. Also the inlet guide has a oil seal on it does the outlet valve guide also have an oil seal on it. Sorry if I confused any one but I am new to the engine thing. Thanks John.
Never do a job standing up when you can do it sitting down.
John

Advertisement

Re: Hi and Honda

Postby bgsengine » Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:11 pm

Valve stem seal is only used on the intake valve.
I would first check if the valve stem itself is worn before attempting to replace the guide - Usually special tools and experience are needed for guide replacement.

Not sure about in the U.K. But stateside, a new head would be a better option if the valve guide is worn - they are surprisingly cheap.

If the engine smokes heavily, I would tend to suspect a head gasket or breather problem before valve guides - while they can lose some oil that way, if they are worn so badly as to make the engine smoke "like a chimney" it won't be the guides.

check your head gasket for any signs that it has burned through between the cylinder and the valve pushrod galley - if it has, then all you may need is a head gasket.
How poor are they who have not patience. What wound did ever heal, but by degrees? - Iago (Othello Act II, Scene 3)
bgsengine