• Advertisement

Problem with standby generator

Use this forum to discuss small engines, and the equipment or machinery that they power. This is the main section for any technical help posts and related questions.

Problem with standby generator

Postby GaryG » Sun Jan 21, 2024 12:07 pm

We have a 2 year-old 22KW Generac Guardian standby generator with a 200A Transfer switch. We had a power outage 2 nights ago at 4AM. The unit kicked in, ran for an hour, and quit. Power had been restored (thankfully!) by about 7:30 AM. The unit was showing "charger missing A/C" error. Some research suggested that the T1 fuse on the transfer switch panel had been blown. I replaced that fuse yesterday, and the generator's display is now showing an overload error. It says to push Off and Enter to clear the error. When I do so I get: "remove load/error 2100." It seems to me, a total novice at this stuff, that there is no load as power has been restored to the house and therefore there isn't any demand on the unit. It's the weekend, and the nearest approved Generac repair person is more than an hour away. What am I not understanding here, and is there something else I should try to restart the system?
GaryG

Advertisement

Re: Problem with standby generator

Postby creia » Sun Jan 21, 2024 12:13 pm

Any warranty on the unit? (labor and/or materials).
Michael
creia
Forum Pro

Postby KE4AVB » Sun Jan 21, 2024 1:31 pm

YUCK.

Warranty depends if new or recon. New warranty has five year limited warranty and hopeful the OP is with the first two year period parts and labor period. Year three covers only parts. Years four and five covers only engine short block and/or alternator (generator head) replacement.

Wish could of further help this one beyond my experience level. All I have worked on have portable units.