• Advertisement

new member into

This is the forum for talking about everything else not related to small engines or outdoor power equipment. - It's the "Coffee Shop" of the PPTEN. Please refrain from discussing Politics or Religion.

new member into

Postby EKAP1200 » Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:19 am

Hello to all, This is my first post here on this forum, My name is Gene, AKA ekap1200. I am a profesional mechanic, ( heavy equipt. Deisel ) and have worked on many gas engines also. I changed careers 14 years ago and work doing military spare parts for a family owned machine shop, and welding shop. Here in the south jersey pinelands I work on most anything that rolls, pumps,walks or crawls. Coming of the age of 58 , a more simple way of making a living is leading me into small engine's. We have a small mower, ( snapper 8hp briggs ) that was passed down from my grandfather after his passing. It never would hold a charge , but had a pull start cord. As I finally got tired of pulling it I looked it over one winter and found the windings burnt and the insulators melted. Diode cracked and in an open condition. I remember my grandfather always complaining about it, and the dealers in Fla. would always just put a new battery in it. Well there was enough of the windings left to note the number of turns and the direction of the coils along with the wire gauge. Having access to a Water/Jet machine I fabricated some insulators and within a few hours had it rewound as the pic below shows
Well thought I had a pic. Had to post a smaller size. Keeps reporting the size is wrong but this image is 640 x 480. any thoughts on why I can not post this pic. ? I post to many forums powered by phpbb that allow the width to be 640 wide not 600 max.